Best Laid Plans Don’t Get Done Unless They Get Made

“The volume and complexity of what we know has exceeded our individual ability to deliver its benefits correctly, safely, or reliably.” Atul Gawande wrote in The Checklist Manifesto.

What I see is that we have way too much knowledge coming at us at any given point in time and it can be overwhelming or just plain distracting. So we write down the important…what we need to remember in order to have something we can refer back to…so we aren’t missing anything.

I am willing to bet if you have ever done a household project and gone to Home Depot without a list you forgot something. Even if you had the list, if you weren’t specific, you still got the wrong item. Either way, you are back on the road wasting your valuable time redoing what you should have done right from the get go. Yes, I did this recently. The only difference is I did it three times in a row. Frustrating to say the least although, my wife seemed to find humor in it.

In the business world today, I have seen executives talk about their plans, but I would say only half actually wrote that plan down. If I had a nickel for every one of them who said, “It’s right here in my noggin,” I would be a rich man. So why write it down.  Writing objectives down solidifies what I want done, where I want to go, and how I am going to get there. I look back at some of the sales campaigns I ran, and when I don’t write down my plan, it fails.  Yes, it was in my noggin, but the complexity of the campaign did not allow me to cover all the bases or learn from my mistakes. Doctors have check lists so they don’t miss a step. Missing a step as a doctor has major implications. As managers, can we afford missteps? Bottom line is, the top performing managers believe they can’t.

Having a plan on paper allows you to learn from past mistakes. As a football coach in my earlier years, I would have the first 12 plays already on paper before we started the game. From those 12 plays I would learn what worked best and move forward with those best plays and retool the others to make them better. Don Mann wrote “Inside Seal Team Six” and how they planned for the capture or death of the USA number one bad guy, Osama bin Laden. They had a plan but were prepared for all kinds of contingencies.  “Plan your dive and dive your plan.”

What it really boils down to is what do you really want to happen? If it’s that important to you or your organization, then write it down and make it happen.

Richard Goering, Guest Blogger, 3C Network

Richard is a top performing sales and operational leader in the building industry backed by 18 years of experience. He currently is the Executive Vice President of  3C Network. His previous position was as the General Manager, for BlueLinx Corporation (a leading national wholesale distributor) presiding over the entire northwest & mountain regions of the US including Hawaii and Alaska.  Richard’s career path has encompassed various positions held across the nation and abroad. He has a B.S. in Sport Management and a minor in Public Relations from Georgia Southern University. Richard currently lives in Denver, Colorado with his wife, Shiloh and children.

40 responses to “Best Laid Plans Don’t Get Done Unless They Get Made

  1. I could not agree more with this article. I hear too much talk and not enough action. Business planning in written form adds accountability.

  2. Interesting post, this was really useful. thanks!

  3. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you really know what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also visit my site =). We could have a link exchange agreement between us!

  4. Best Laid Plans Don’t Get Done Unless They Get Made | Better Managers Blog I was recommended this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re wonderful! Thanks! your article about Best Laid Plans Don’t Get Done Unless They Get Made | Better Managers BlogBest Regards Cindy

  5. Pingback: Stand Back, I’m Flipping my Sign Here | Better Managers Blog

  6. Thanks , I’ve recently been looking for information about this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I’ve discovered so far. But, what about the bottom line? Are you sure about the source?

  7. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch!

  8. Best Laid Plans Don’t Get Done Unless They Get Made | Better Managers Blog I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about Best Laid Plans Don’t Get Done Unless They Get Made | Better Managers BlogBest Regards Lawrence

  9. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & aid other users like its aided me. Great job.

  10. I am glad to be a visitor of this unadulterated blog ! , thankyou for this rare information! .

  11. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one today..

  12. Certainly with your thoughts here and that i love your blog! I’ve bookmarked it making sure that I can come back & read more in the foreseeable future.

  13. Hey! I just want to give a huge thumbs up for the great data you might have right here on this post. I shall be coming again to your weblog for extra soon.

  14. Super story indeed. I have been awaiting for this update.

  15. You have mentioned very interesting details! ps nice site.

  16. Keep functioning ,impressive job!

  17. Many thanks for an incredible submit, would examine your others content. thank you your ideas with this, I soon became somewhat strike by this short article. Thanks again! You wanna make an excellent moment. Got some excellent facts here. I feel that in case more people thought about it doing this, they’d possess a better time period get the hold ofing the issue.

  18. You need to take part in a contest for among the finest blogs on the web. I will suggest this web site!

  19. I would like to express my thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this particular scenario. Right after looking out throughout the search engines and finding principles that were not beneficial, I was thinking my entire life was well over. Living without the presence of approaches to the issues you have fixed through your entire posting is a crucial case, as well as the kind that would have adversely affected my entire career if I hadn’t encountered your website. Your own personal know-how and kindness in touching all areas was valuable. I am not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t discovered such a solution like this. It’s possible to at this moment look forward to my future. Thanks for your time very much for the skilled and result oriented guide. I will not think twice to suggest your blog to anybody who requires care on this problem.

  20. I just want to mention I am very new to weblog and definitely liked you’re page. Probably I’m going to bookmark your site . You amazingly have incredible article content. Regards for sharing with us your blog site.

  21. Pretty wonderful article. I located your web page and wanted to say that I’ve really liked browsing your blog.

  22. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would really benefit from some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Regards!

  23. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

    • Just start by outlining what your blog content will look like and who you think will be interested in reading it. Then you can setup a free blog through Google’s Blogger.com tool. Have fun with it and good luck!

  24. Located your post extremely exciting certainly. I seriously enjoyed browsing it and you simply make very some great points. I will bookmark this website for the upcoming! Relly excellent content.

  25. Uncovered your article extremely appealing certainly. I genuinely enjoyed reading it therefore you make really some excellent factors. I’ll bookmark this web site for your potential! Relly terrific short article.

  26. Found your article pretty intriguing indeed. I seriously really enjoyed looking at it therefore you make pretty some great details. I will bookmark this web page with the foreseeable future! Relly terrific write-up.

  27. Heya just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same outcome.

  28. Located your post quite fascinating in truth. I truly loved reading it so you make really some very good details. I’ll bookmark this web site for your upcoming! Relly good post.

  29. It is really a nice and useful piece of information. I am glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  30. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

  31. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  32. I have been reading out a few of your posts and it’s pretty clever stuff. I will definitely bookmark your site.

  33. Helpful details. Fortunate us I ran across your own site inadvertently, along with I’m astonished why this particular coincidence didn’t came into being previous! My spouse and i bookmarked it.

  34. Thanks for any other informative blog. The place else could I am getting that kind of info written in such a perfect manner? I have a venture that I’m simply now running on, and I’ve been at the glance out for such information.

  35. Great web site you have here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours these days. I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  36. May I just say what a comfort to uncover a person that actually understands what they are discussing over the internet. You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More people ought to check this out and understand this side of your story. I was surprised that you’re not more popular given that you surely have the gift. article source

Leave a Reply

